A New Venture

I am someone who likes to change her mind a lot.  It’s probably why my son does it so often to us.  I get why he does it, and now I get why it can drive other people crazy.  Well I’m changing my mind again.  I haven’t been posting, because I haven’t wanted to, and because by the end of this month I’m not going to be a Creative Memories consultant anymore.    It just didn’t work out how I expected it and that’s ok.  I’m good with that.  I’ll miss my discount, but I won’t miss the stress of trying to reach sales goals.  I’m not really a sales person.  I’m a behind the scenes, how can I help you kind of person.

So, I have decided that I’m going to use this blog for another passion that you may or may not know about me.  You probably know that I love to read, well, I also love to write.  I am not the next great Canadian Novelist, but I do enjoy it.  I have always thought it would be amazing to get published.  So that’s the goal of this blog, to practise writing and share my journey of trying to get published.  I’ll practise my writing by writing about life as mom, wife and family girl.  I’ll also share snips of my stories, my ideas and other passions.  Its practise so that I keep writing and hopefully it will help me get better, and maybe it will help me get published.  I might just do a happy dance if that happens.

Have a shocked you?  I don’t know, maybe, maybe not.  Not very many people know that I like to write.  Do you also know that I have started several novels, but have only actually finished two?  I think that’s all I’ve finished, not counting the short stories I wrote for school.  I’ve only ever shared one with two people, and have heard feedback from one.  It was surprisingly good.  Guaranteed, you will not all like my work.  Everyone has books they like and don’t like.  I can’t please everyone, but I can at least try to write the stories that are in my heart.  That’s all I want to do, and if someone likes it, and maybe even learns something from it, I will consider it a success.

I expect constructive criticism, even if you don’t like it.  Let’s just keep it clean and nice.  Fair?  I will respect you if you don’t like my work, so I ask that you respect my goals and keep it constructive and not mean.

I still can’t believe I’m doing this, I feel like I’m putting myself out there for the whole world to see, but if I do manage to publish a book I guess that’s what will happen too.

It won’t just be writing and books, it will be life.  I plan to share plans, stories, the ups and downs of parenting, and hopefully I will entertain, make you cry and maybe even make you mad.  Here’s to the writing journey ahead!

P.S.  To have a peek at what I have done, just click on the “fiction press” link.  It’s an old account I set up in high school, so it’s old writing and a profile I haven’t updated in a while.  Check it out, and hopefully you can compare with more recent work and see an improvement!

Leave a comment